• Email
  • Print

News Updates

Garland Voters to Consider Council, Mayor and Charter

Garland voters should do their homework before going to the polls for the May 5 election. In addition to the normal City Council elections, voters will consider 36 proposed amendments to the City of Garland Charter, as well as a special election for mayor. Details are available on the City Secretary's webpage.

City Council

Per the normal election schedule, City Council seats for Districts 1, 2, 4 and 5 are up this year. Candidates are as follows:

District 1 - David Gibbons (Incumbent)
District 5 - Rich Aubin (Incumbent) 
District 2 - Rex Wisdom
                 Deborah Morris
District 4 - Jim Bookhout

Special Election for Mayor

Mayor Douglas Athas resigned in January, leaving one year on his final two-year term. The filing deadline is Monday, March 5, for candidates to run to serve for that portion of the mayor’s term.

The mayor and City Council members are limited to six years in office or three consecutive two-year terms.

Charter Amendments

The largest portion of the May 5 ballot will be devoted to 36 proposed amendments to the City Charter. The Charter is the City’s overarching governing document.

A complete listing of proposed amendments, as they will appear on the ballot, will be published in the Dallas Morning News on April 10. That document also will be made available at GarlandTX.gov, on the City Secretary’s page. Additional documents and video of City Council discussions about these recommendations also are available on the website. For more information, call the City Secretary’s Office at 972-205-2404.

Early Voting and Election Day

The last day to register to vote in the May 5 election is Thursday, April 5. Early voting in person begins Monday, April 23, and runs through Tuesday, May 1. Voters will need to vote at their normal polling locations on Election Day, May 5, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. For early voting schedules and locations, or to look up Election Day polling locations, visit DallasCountyVotes.org or call the City Secretary’s Office at 972-205-2404.

Remember, State law requires voters to show an approved photo ID: Texas driver license, Texas Election Identification Certificate, Texas Personal Identification issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety, United States military identification card, United States citizenship certificate or United States passport.