Redevelopment activities in Downtown Garland achieved an important milestone on Saturday, May 31 as City officials celebrated the reopening of the Landmark Museum (the former Santa Fe depot) and the dedication of Heritage Crossing, a greenspace area and pedestrian corridor south of Walnut Street between Glenbrook Drive and Fifth Street along the DART rail line. This prominent placement will better showcase Garland's historic assets.
Portions of Heritage Crossing are still under development. Landscape improvements to the area will create linkages between recent projects including Richland College, Oaks Fifth Street Crossing, the DART rail station and the Granville Arts Center, as well as current and future projects including the Sixth Street extension.
The depot was designated as a Texas Historic Landmark in 1974. The Texas Historic Commission has approved the City’s request to relocate the depot to the Landmark Depot Crossing just south of the DART rail line (Dallas, Garland & Northeastern Railroad) in honor of Garland’s rail history. The Santa Fe depot will continue as the Landmark Museum, housing Garland-specific historical artifacts and documents.
Two historic houses (Pace and Lyles) are associated with the downtown redevelopment project. The Pace House has been turned over to private ownership and will be relocated to the newly-designated Travis College Hill Historic District. The Lyles House and the 1910 Pullman railcar are now located in Heritage Crossing.