• Email
  • Print

Garland Youth Council


The Garland Youth Council (GYC) hosts regular meetings on the second Tuesday of each month at Granger Rec Center, 1310 W. Avenue F. Meetings begin promptly at 5:30 p.m., and all teens are welcome to attend. (Dates are subject to change for holidays, etc.) For more information, email GYC@GarlandTx.gov or call 972-205-2471.

Spring Meeting Schedule:
Jan. 12 - Topic: Economic Development, David Gwin, Economic Development Director
Feb. 9 - Topic: Public Safety, Representatives from Garland Fire and Police
March 22 - Topic: Juvenile Curfew Ordinance, Mitch Bates, Chief of Police
April 26 - Topic: Healthy Living, Lee Manly, City of Garland

All teens are welcome to attend a fun, educational and interactive event hosted by the Garland Youth Council. Topics include Economic Development, Connecting with the City and Teens in the Driver Seat. We will be mapping the fun in Garland, exploring social media connections with the City and learning about safe teen driving. Lunch will be provided. Email GYC@GarlandTx.gov for more information.
Teen Talk Poster.pdf

Youth Council Members - 2015-16
Elizabeth Sinclair - President Michael Lambert - Vice President Kelsy Duke Kenison - Secretary
William Athas Janie Goheen Katherine Sinclair - Historian
Dagem Adehena Stephanie Hernandez - Historian Noah Stevens
Summer Davis Sara Lambert Jazmin Escamilla
Justice Dickson Max Moeck Erick Zamora
Zaria Dickson Lucas Sanders - Historian Anthony Tyson
Cameron Glick Preston Sanderson  

Garland Youth Council Application 2016-17.pdf